Alyssa's World

Just another WordPress.com site

Ah School… April 30, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — taylor1370 @ 1:19 am

I thought I would never catch myself saying how I miss school but I had a huge opportunity to attend high school classes while I was staying in Germany. I attended class towards the end of there year at Gymnasium Bondenwald. It was an interesting couple of days because each class had just completed their finals but they still had to attend class. Now in America once you attend finals your done for the semester. So what did we do? We still were learning while completing worksheets. I know right?!?.. It was interesting because me and the rest of my group that was with me just sate their and followed along.

When it was Gym class we got to explore school and see what other classes where doing and we came a crossed a class room with a bunch of little kids and they asked us to join them. We joined their circle and it was before long all the cute little boys and girls found out we were German and we were from…AMERICA. They asked use all these questions and how we got to Germany. We answered all of their questions and we taught them a few songs and American traditions. The biggest question we were asked is what we thought of President Bush and if were known the war was going to end. When we traveled to Germany the War had just begun and the American people seemed very much disliked.  Once we finished speaking with the kids it was time for music class for my host student. This was the hardest for me because they were practicing for their upcoming performance. As  I was listening to the song I had realized it “Dear Mr. President” by Pink and I had never heard of this song and it was about my own country and my President. Once they had finished the song I talked to them bout the War and why they choose the song and they explained to me that what was going on in the world wasn’t just effecting my country but countries a crossed the world. I was really taken back because I felt as if I had done something wrong just because I was American and I come from a strong Military background. I asked my teacher how come we are the same age and they know more about  the War and what is going in the middle east and she didn’t know and all she said to me was it was a learning opportunity to learn what was going on.

Overall, going to school in an unfamiliar place was an eye-opening experience and challenged me to speak to locals where ever I went because they my know something that I don’t.

 

 

 

Leave a comment